Between simplicity and taste,Tremezzina(the area among Colonno and Tremezzo) is the ideal spot for a journey made of sugar, flour and many calories.
The “made in Lago di Como” has always been synonym for simplicity and tastefulness which decreed, over the years, the great success of this wonderful area in tourism and food and drink. These two elements, indeed, are the common denominator of our gastronomy which, despite what you think offers you a wide choice of desserts representing true delicacies.
The newest among all Tremezzina‘s delicacies is the cake taking the same name: Torta Tremezzina. It was born 50 years ago in a workshop in Porlezza by the greedy mind of Fulvio Cairoli; the recipe was then patented and carried on by the Cairoli family with great attention to high quality and to healthy and genuine ingredients.
The cake is composed of a light, soft dough which meets a shortcrust pastry filled with a thin jam layer, is garnished in surface with almonds and decorated with powdered sugar. It is surely worth of a place in the gluttons bracket!
The Pasticceria Cairoli, closed in 2006, passed the torch to Pasticceria Tremezzina and the new owners Nicola, Amelio and Concetta Cusano is carrying on the pastry tradition of the one and only Torta Tremezzina.
Once upon a time a fisherman from Mezzegra who particularly cares about his boat, that is why he secured it to the pier with a special knot that he only knew how to do. A morning, however, he found his boat moored at the usual place but tied differently…had someone used the boat at night? He went out fishing. Once back, he secured the boat with his special knot and went home. Unfortunately, the following day the boat was not moored as he left it.
The fisherman, decided to discover who and for what used his boat at night, that night hid himself below deck andwaited…he waited so long that he was convinced nobody would come. At midnight he began to hear some voices, he saw the boat swinging and several people taking place on it…then, a voice said: <<boat leave for 1, boat leave for 2, for 3, for 4, for 5, for 6, for 7…>> but someone said <<but one of us is pregnant>> and the previous voice added <<so boat, leave for 8>> the boat immediately rose up from the waters of Lake Como and began to fly in the sky. The poor fisherman, realizing that he was surrounded by 7 witches decided to stay quiet below deck to avoid being discovered.
The boat stopped and landed in Torno, a small town on the opposite banks of Lake Como…all the witches got off the boat and disappeared until the early morning. They got on the boat again, the first witch pronounced the same refrain, the boat left and landed in Mezzegra where the witches moored it.
The following evening, the same scene…this time, however, the fisherman decided to follow the witches secretly. They arrived in a clearing where they did a bewitched dance and they picked up some sprigs from a plant that grew only in that place; the fisherman also picked a sprig up and put it on his hat for not losing it…early in the morning they came back to Mezzegra and made a date for the following night at Praa de La Taca, a very ancient place located on half mountain above Mezzegra, where once witches and shamans did their sabbat.
The poor fisherman was more and more frightened and remained goggle-eyed with astonishment when he recognized his wife among the 7 witches! The following evening, he followed his wife and the other witches up to Praa de La Taca and hid himself behind a stone: from there, he spied his wife and the other witches who, while dancing and throwing the sprigs into the fire, recited magic spells.
Unfortunately, the poor fisherman sneezed and was seen by the witches, who wanted to throw him into the fire…luckily, his wife recognized him and, thanks to the sprig he had on his hat, he was safe. The witches ordered him to burn the sprig and made him swear that, in exchange for life, he would never tell anyone anything and that them, the witches, could continue to use his boat every night.
A rough translation for Praa de La Taca could be “meadow of the footprints”…which footprints are we talking about? Sure, according to the legend these footprints are of the witches and shamans.
The certain thing is that, being at the borders of the enormous breaking in the rock which characterize the Crocione mount, the whole stone originates from a very ancient tropical sea populated by big mollusks, called Conchodon.In their fossil form, they seem to be little hearts (for the most romantic ones) or clog signs (for a farming culture)…which one do you prefer?
The so-calledGiro di Lombardia (officially Il Lombardia) is an individual male cycling race taking place each October in Lombardy. Since 2009, it is part of UCI World Tour and it is considered one of the five “classic races”:
Tour of Flanders
Liège Bastogne Liège
Giro di Lombardia
The race was established in 1905 so that this year takes place its 111th edition.
The track has changed several times over the years, but its symbol continues to be the Ghisallo, a worldwide rise starting from Bellagio and reaching the church with the same name (Madonna del Ghisallo), which is considered cyclists’ protector.
The Muro di Sormano is also widely known: this rise is 2.4 km long, ranging an elevation from 831 to 1124 meters, and with a gradient up to 24% so it’s a very demanding track.
Traditional points of arrival through the years were Milan, Monza, Como and in the second half of ’90 years Bergamo. From 2004 to 2010 the arrival was Como’s lakefront again, with the asperity of Valfresca (a rise located in San Fermo della Battaglia) a few km from the final line. From 2011 to 2013 the arrival was in Lecco while from 2014 to 2016 alternating between Como and Bergamo.
This year, Il Lombardia takes place on 7 October. The starting point is in Bergamo and the arrival, 247 km after, in Como…the same rout as 2015 edition, when Vincenzo Nibali rode to a solo victory.
The track is very selective and demanding, with six rises and 4.000 meters of vertical elevation: the first climb, Colle Gallo, is followed by Colle Brianza; after the town of Onno the riders climb the Madonna del Ghisallo, followed by the Muro di Sormano. After the Colma di Sormano the race descends to Nesso and onto the last two climbs: Civiglio and San Fermo della Battaglia, before reaching the finish line on Lungo Lario Trento e Trieste in Como.
Isola Comacina, the only island of Lake Como, has a glorious past. In 569 the Langobards crossed the Alps and quickly seized northern Italy…except for the richer part of Como and bordering towns, which, leaded by the general Francione, gathered on the island with their treasures. In a short time, houses, churches and fortifications rose on the tiny island, which took the name of Cristopolis (“the city of God”), since per a legend, a British priest carried the Holy Grail there.
In the Middle Ages, the island started to play an important role in politics and economics and in 1100 it started to entertain friendly relations with Milan. When in 1118 exploded the ten-years’ war between Como and Milan, the island allied with Milan and Como was defeated. It was 1127.
Thanks to the emperor Federico Barbarossa, Como rose again and in 1169, at St. John’s night, the warriors invaded the island, making devastations and carnages…the fortifications were destroyed and the churches, except for one, were razed to the ground. But that’s not all…the alliance with Milan was a serious crime: to pile it on, Vidulfo, the Bishop of Como excommunicated the island and in 1175 the Barbarossa forbade to rebuilt fortifications, houses and churches with a decree.
Obviously, since that moment on, nobody more inhabited the island because of the curse…until it was rediscovered in the 20th century. In 1914, indeed, the owner decided to bequeath the island to the king of Belgium, who in 1920 gave the it to the Italian state to transform it in a resting place for Italian and Belgian artists.
So, the island passed to the responsibility of Accademia di Brera (Brera Academy), which was appointed to preserve the archeological allure and the landscape’s charm. That is why, with the aim to making the island a community for artists, Pietro Lingeri (one of the main Rationalism exponent) built in 1939 three houses for artists, in Rationalism style.
SAGRA DI SAN GIOVANNI, ONE OF THE MOST EVOCATIVE AND ANCIENT EVENT.
The Sagra di San Giovanni is among the most evocative and ancient folkloristic events of Lake Como. It dates to 1600, when it was celebrated for the first time to keep alive the faith and the memory of the inhabitants.
Per a legend, in 1435 St. John appeared to a shepherd, inviting him to dig under a walnut…it was so, the ruins of the ancient Basilica di San Giovanni arose!The basilica was rebuilt and, since that moment on, on 23rd June (St. John’s birth) the terrible matters are celebrated with a solemn procession.
Some centuries later, on 22nd June, the houses and water in front of the island started to be enlighten by small lights (called lumaghitt) obtained, until 1960s, from snails’ shells. The aim was to remember the island’s blaze.
Starting from 1950s, a wonderful firework show was added to this celebration, as symbolic blaze of the island.
The year was 1899 and Como got itself ready to celebrate the centenary of Voltaic pile’s invention with the participation of Italian and foreign firms. It was the International Electricity Exhibition and Helios, a firm from Cologne, decided to set in Como a short experimental tramway to promote the advantages in taking the tram.
Como’s tramway was launched on 1st January 1906 with the first stretch: S.Giovanni station-piazza Cavour-funicular and ended on 14th September 1952.
It was composed by five routes:
S. Giovanni station-piazza Cavour-funicular, launched in January 1906.
Piazza Cavour-San Rocco-Camerlata cemetery, launched in March 1906.
Piazza Cavour-Villa Salazar-Ponte Chiasso, launched in June 1906.
Piazza Cavour-San Martino, launched in July 1908.
Piazza Cavour-viale Varese-San Rocco, launched before 1914.
The urban tramway was 13.9 km wide. There were also non-urban routes to connect the city with its suburbs or with other cities:
Como-Cernobbio-Maslianico, launched between 1910 and 1911
Como-Appiano Gentile-Mozzate, launched in 1910.
Como-Cantù-Asnago, launched in 1909.
Como-Erba-Lecco, launched in 1912 and finished in 1928 with the connection with Lecco.
The whole tramway worked by a power grid of 550 V and obviously this was possible thanks to Alessandro Volta’s studies and invention, the pile.
Starting from 1935 trams were replaced by trolleybuses, until 1952 when the whole service was abolished to make room, in the following year, to a busway.
It was 1790 and William Wordsworth reached Lake Como for the Grand Tour, wanting something new. Three years later, he published Descriptive Sketches where he described our lake’s scenery as an amorous place, with sparkling eyes and breaking smiles.
AND, Como! thou, a treasure whom the earth
keeps to herself
Lake Como, indeed, has always been an ideal spot for artists, writers, aristocrats and famous people, thanks to its unique charm and wonderful, lavish villas. More and more Hollywood stars and famous people choose Lake Como to spend some days far from the hustle and bustle; to celebrate their wedding or to buy home:
George Clooney: he was one of the first American stars to fall in love with Lake Como. He visited Lake Como for the first time during breaks between films and he was enchanted by the Italian lifestyle, suggestive landscapes and marvelous villas with gardens overlooking the light-blue lake.
“Why should you go to Como?” “Cause it is shorter and easier to say. Lake Como!”.
Tom Cruise: he was invited by George Clooney to spend time on Lake Como, more precisely in Villa Oleandra.
Brad Pitt: he enjoyed Lake Como during Ocean’s Twelve shoot and he could not resist George Clooney’s invitation. Angelina also appreciated.
Matt Damon: he spent time in George Clooney’s home together with his wife and their children.
Cindy Crawford: she visited George Clooney with her husband Rande Gerber. They had a boat ride to appreciate our wonderful lake.
Catherine Zeta Jones: she visited Lake Como several times. First, she posed for Versace’s Italian Maison and spent a few days in their wonderful villa in Moltrasio. Then she visited George Clooney with her husband Michael Douglas.
Julia Roberts: she took her family out for a day of fun on Lake Como. It was the best opportunity to enjoy our charming panoramas and of course Clooney’s fascinating wife, Amal.
Gianni Versace: he was an admirer of Lake Como. He lived for several years in Villa Fontanelle, a neoclassical family home and property of his family, in Moltrasio.
Madonna: in 2005, she became the face of Versace’s fashion campaign and posed as an elegant and strong woman. During this partnership, she asked to use Villa Fontanelle, in Moltrasio, Lake Como, indeed, has always been an ideal spot for artists, writers, aristocrats and famous people, thanks to its unique charm and wonderful, lavish villas. More and more Hollywood stars and famous people choose Lake Como to spend some days far from the hustle and bustle; to celebrate their wedding or to buy whenever she wanted.
Michael Schumacher: in 2005 he bought Villa Cassinella, situated in Lenno, one of the most panoramic and scenic locations on Lake Como. He could not forget the tranquility and harmony of a location that could be reached only by boat or by walking from Passo del Lavedo.
Shakira and Piqué: in 2011, the FC Barcelona’s footballer and his partner Shakira chose Lake Como for a romantic elope and spent two days in Cernobbio.
Jennifer Lopez: in 2001 she spent her honeymoon on Lake Como, in Villa Fontanelle.
Richard Gere: he was invited in 2005 by Andriy Shevchenko to his house in Blevio
Robert De Niro: he chooses Lake Como every year to spend some days with his family.
Liam Gallagher: the singer spent several weeks at Villa d’Este with his wife.
Matthew Bellamy: he lived for several years on Lake Como with his girlfriend and he recorded the album “The Resistance”
Avril Lavigne: in 2008, he spent some time in Como with her husband and her band during a break from the tour.
Anthony Hopkins: he spent time going shopping and having a stroll in Cernobbio
Bruce Springsteen: he went several times to Lake Como with her wife and daughter to relax and go shopping in Como
Wanda Nara and Mauro Icardi: last summer, they arrived to Tremezzo aboard a black and white Rolls Royce to spend a romantic night.
John Legend and Chrissy Teigen: they got married in 2013 at Villa Pizzo, Cernobbio. Then they came back on Lake Como to celebrate their 3rd wedding-anniversary.
Mariah Carey: he spent a day at Villa Passalacqua, Moltrasio, making rehearsals for her tour.
Mark Zuckerberg: he took part to a wedding on Lake Como with his wife.
Álvaro Soler: the singer spent some hours in Como last winter. He visited the cathedral and bought a typical cheese from Lake Como. In Summer he came back to take a break before his summer tour and he had a refreshing bath in the swimming pool in Tremezzo.
photo by instagram @alvarosolermusic
Lindsay Lohan: in 2012 she posed for a Philipp Plein’s campaign in Bellagio
Lionel Messi: in 2014 he bought a villa on Lake Como
Emily Blunt and John Krasinki: they got married in 2010 at the lavish Villa d’Este, on the shores of Lake Como.
Robbie Williams: in 2014, he was the guest star at the marriage of Julia Blavatnik and he made a concert in Bellagio only for the guests.
Thanks to all the celebrities spending their time on Lake Como, it has become more and more an international, refined destination.
“When you write the story of two happy lovers, let the story be set on the banks of Lake Como” Franz Liszt
That’s exactly a love story the one we are telling you about…the love story between Matteo and Clotilde, the new stars of Lake Como. No, they are not Hollywood stars but two marvelous and elegant swans, characterized by white, soft plumage, a lofty beauty and a long, limber neck.
They were given this names by the taxi boats drivers Tasell and in 2014 for the first time they decided to crown their love building their nest just exactly in front of Piazza Cavour, one of the main squares of Como.
Since then, they meet themselves each year at the beginning of Spring to build their nest, twig by twig, and lay their eggs. Day by day, they have become a real attraction for all the tourists in Como: when walking along the lakefront, indeed, is impossible not to see groups of people taking photos to the tender couple.
Mother Clotilde is brooding with love their 5 eggs, while father Matteo is standing guard on his sweetheart and the nest.
Unfortunately, last year and two years ago, due to continuous rain, the lake flooded and the nest and all the eggs were destroyed. So, there was no happy ending for Matteo and Clotilde and people who heard them remembers their lament, a gloomy and painful sound…someone even says that tears came streaming from their big black eyes!
So, this year locals and tourists are waiting with bated breath….hoping that there will be happy ending!
“To those who do not just drink a coffee quickly, but take their time to really taste and savor it. To them we dedicate our labors and with them we share our secrets and our passion.” Pierluigi Milani
From a small workshop, which emanated magical aromas through the streets in the historic city center of Como, to a modern factorywhere past and future meet and blend to obtain high-quality products. Caffè Milani was born in 1937, thanks to the passion of the actual owner’s father, and nowadays has 80 years of activity and experience on importing and roasting coffee.
The careful selection of the best varieties, directly imported from their places of origin, the skillful in roasting and blending procedures and the constant control on each production stage, give this coffee impassable scent and body, which are peculiar characteristics of the real Italian Espresso.
It was 1937, and in the historic center of Como was impossible to resist the charm of coffee’s scent coming from a workshop. We are talking about Celestino Milani’s workshop, where was a small coffee bar and a discontinuous roaster producing high-quality coffee. Not far from the breathtaking view of Lake Como, the workshop soon became a popular destination: residents went there to have a pleasant break and tourists to seek a good, authentic, Italian-style coffee. Celestino’s coffee soon became a landmark throughout and beyond, and the reason for this well-deserved success is very simple: Celestino’s endless passion.
This passion was expressed, day by day, through the careful selection of the finest coffee varieties (directly imported from its origin places), through the meticulous attention to roasting and, of course, to the skillful blending. That is why Celestino soon became a real “Master roaster”, among the most attentive and competent of his time. Unavoidably, this endless passion involved even his youngest son, Pierluigi. Celestino taught him the secrets of roasting and the blend recipes, a precious treasure that he has jealously kept until today.
In the following years, Pierluigi Milani continued to transfer to the company in Lipomo the extreme attention to the production process that his father had taught him.
THE SEVEN KEYS WHICH MAKES CAFFE’ MILANI UNIQUE AND INIMITABLE
HISTORY: History means family, wisdom and culture; culture of a profession that has been developing and evolving year by year. Neither school nor any other learning methodology can compete with this: years and years of passion, transmitted from father to son have create such a unique and special roasting style.
HEART: Heart means pure love. Heart means caring for the product, following and cuddling it, getting passionate by its growth. That’s a passion which arises spontaneously in people’s heart and which is not for sale: either you have it or you will never have it. Heart is the heart Milani has always had for coffee.
STRENGTH: Milani believes that its strength, as well as its determination can be found in its coffee. That’s the energy used in the years by Milani to reach specific goals and which will be the key to keep going on. That’s the courage to go ahead.
SOUL: The soul of coffee is its core, it’s something which goes beyond the bean. Is the emotion it recalls, is fascinating scent, is that element which converts the coffee cup into a unique experience.Milani has always wanted to respect the deepest soul of the coffee.
IDEAS: Milani has never been afraid of new ideas. Indeed, they have always welcomed them and looked for them. Because ideas can change the world: ideas to follow and forestall customers’ tastes; ideas to ride new technologies respecting the past and choosing the best for the future.
HARMONY: Harmony is all in a blend; harmony is the perfect marriage between strength and softness, as well as the balance in life. Finding the perfect balance is a difficult art, but Milani has achieved to understand and manage it wisely, to always be in harmony with customers.
CHARACTER: a coffee of character has a strong personality which distinguish it from the others. Each Milani blend has a different character and it is also appreciated for that. Because…coffee is like a friend, something unique and irreplaceable which gives you the right thing at the right time.
This is a story of courage and passion, made of pure love for a territory and its features. Let’s talk about something that is usually matched with your meals… sometimes it heals your deepest wounds or simply accompany your romantic nights. Well, we are referring to Wine!
For many years, the production of this refined drink was destined only to the area close to Milan. Thanks to some ancient documents we can say that the activity of making-wine goes back even to the Romans and Middle Ages. In 1800 the Commissione Ampelografica compiled a list of ten vineyards used to produce Lake Como’s refined wines. It’s surprising the fact that Verdesa , the tipical white wine of the area, was already mentioned by that list.
Tolstoj told the fame of Como and its vineyards. He wrote about its stay in Tavernola, where he experimented a new form of health therapy. At that times the grapes that covered Tavernolas’ hills were used to handle diseases and illnesses. Unfortunately, this fame was early destroyed. Slowly mulberries and their silkworms covered the valleys of Lake Como: it was only the XVIV century when the renowed Lario’s wine disappeared. Exactly ten years ago angular and tired farmers, dressed only by fatigue and sweat, supported by climate, recovered the old wine-producting tradition… The native vine variety restart to germinate!
This week, Vinitaly, the Italian biggest event dedicated to the world of wine, celebrated this story! 36 farms, located in Brianza and around Como, exhibited their 365-days work: 3500 quintals of grapes. This is definitely a niche in the world of wine-excellences in Lombardy. High quality product that shows a strict connection with lands, traditions, families, art and history, but also economic.
It’s difficult to cultivate grapes in an area with extreme temperature’s changes. This gives to the wine a special flavor. Indeed, in 2008, the IGT brand ” Terre Lariane ” has been recognized to the wine of the lake.
The best stops for a wine tasting and sparkling tour around the lake, swimming in the wine, are surely La Valletta Brianza (LC), Montevecchia, Montano Lucino (CO), Domaso (CO) and Sirtori (LC). Domaso, affected positively by the influences of the Valtellina’s viticulture, is flourishing, as well as Ticino and the shores of Lake Lugano. It’s about a niche production that spans the provinces of Como and Lecco and includes local wines such as Sorsasso, white, red and pink. Although only the white ones, like Domasino, received lots of awards. Today, the desire to discover the wines of the lake has allowed many fans to discover the viticulture in Drezzo and Uggiate Trevano, famous for the precious bottles of merlot. Talking about Montano Lucino you can consider even the chardonnay, merlot and cabernet.
Now begin your wine tasting tour of the lake! Cheers! Let’s toast to Lake Como!
What’s on Easter? We’re on the lookout for awe-inspiring travel proposal to get you in the mood for your Easter holiday around the lake. Nearly every culture has a unique way to remember and celebrate this religious event. Below are our top three ideas about where you can weave acts of remembrance into an already awesome and fun vacations
1)What’s on Easter? Saturday –> Dreaming a little bit of relaxation: the Roman Baths.
Let’s jump back to the second half of the first century A.D.! The city of Como hosts the remains of Roman baths. They are spread over an area of about 1500 square meters. Recently, thanks to the works of recovery, the baths are now visited by walking on a path of elevated walkways. Through them you can also see the remains of the excavations and recovered plaster. Two small exhibition spaces with explanatory panels preserve a selection of excavation finds.
Saturday could be the perfect day to enjoy this piece of Italian history. The Roman baths are located in Viale Lecco, 9, in Como. On Saturday they are open from 10am to 6pm, while from Tuesday to Thursday from 10am to 2pm.
For more information you can:
Go to the Infopoint Broletto, in Piazza Duomo ( phone +39 031 304137 – everyday open from 10am to 6pm);
2)What’s on Easter? Sunday –> An alternative Easter lunch: Let’s have a barbecue!
Alpe del vicerè
At 900 mt above the village of Albavilla, in the province of Como, there’s a suggestive upland perfect for different tipes of trips. This territory, also called Alpe del Vicerè, is a small park, equipped with a parking area, as well as picnic areas with tables and barbeque corners. Nearby there are restaurants and mountain huts and various trails for hiking enthusiasts.
It is an ideal base for many excursions along the Dorsale del Triangolo Lariano. Following different paths, indicated by the numbered trail, you can reach:
Baita Patrizi (943 m; 1 hour);
Capanna Mara (1125 m; 1 hour);
Bolettone Refuge (1310 m; 1.15 hours);
Riella Refuge (1275 m; 1.45 hours);
The hole of the Lead (695 m; 1 hour).
Starting from Como you can easily reach Albavilla by bus (c40)and by car (following SP37).
Among the inhabitants of Como even a few know this ancient and interesting reality. Unfortunately there is no public transport in this area. Starting from Como, follow ss340 (Strada Regina). You will pass Cernobbio and then reach Bisbino. Six hairpin turns after Madrona and 3/4 kilometers far from the top there is a picnic area with barbecue and picnic tables.
After a good Sunday lunch you can turn around the Bisbino, following a path at about 2/300 meters below the summit.
3)What’s on Easter? Monday –> Children, have fun! Treasure hunt is here!
The exciting treasure hunts of Lake Como’s villas are unmissable! The Botanical Gardens’ Treasure Hunt, organized by the Grandi Giardini Italiani, is a great opportunity to bring children to nature in a witty way. They learn to recognize plants and trees, leaf by leaf.
The event is organized for children aged 6 to 12 years.
Villa Carlotta, Tremezzo
The event is organized in three shifts:
10 euros for children;
5 euros for parents. Parents’ ticket give also the opportunity to visit the museum and the botanic park;
Villa Melzi, Bellagio
It is organized in two shifts:
Free entrance for children;
6,50 euros for parents;
You don’t need to book!
For more information: giardinidivillamelzi.it – +39 339 4573838
Villa Monastero, Varenna
For information: +39 0341 295450 – firstname.lastname@example.org